It’s Time for a New Adventure.

By now, most of you probably know that I am leaving to serve as a Peace Corps Volunteer in Indonesia. I will be serving as a TEFL teacher for 2 years, after I complete 10 weeks of training. But before I start talking about anything, I need to say this first:

*The content of this website is mine alone and does not necessarily reflect the views of the U.S. Government, the Peace Corps, or the Indonesian Government.*

Now, let me tell you, I leave on March 5th. Well, I leave my hometown on March 5th. I don’t leave for California (my first stop before Indonesia) until March 9th. For those 4 days, I’ll be staying with my brother in Utah. As exciting as it is to get to spend a few days in Utah before I go, it also adds to the stress. Honestly, it’s mostly just packing stress because I’m beyond excited to start this new adventure.

I’ve created list after list, and I’ve added to them and taken things off of them a thousand times. Here’s a (rough) list of what I’ll be bringing with me for the next 2+ years:

  • Clothing
    • Black button up shirts (3)
    • Red and Black shirts (2)
    • Yoga pants (7)
    • 24 pairs of underwear
    • Cotton T-shirts (3)
    • Quick drying t-shirts (5)
    • Adidas climacool socks (6)
    • Long sleeve t-shirt (2)
    • Rain jacket
    • Sports bras (6)
    • Running yoga pants (3)
    • Athletic shorts (3)
    • Macabi Skirts (2)
    • Light-weight scarves (2)
    • Handkerchief (2)
    • T-shirt/tanktop for pajamas
    • Light sweater/sweatshirt
    • Sweatshirt (for plane)
    • Black and Green Dresses
    • Shorts for traveling
    • Swimsuit
  • Shoes
  • Chaco sandals (1)
  • Nike sneakers (2)
  • Slip-on dress shoes (1)
  • Scholl’s inserts (2)
  • Gold flower sandals
  • Accessories
    • Baseball hat (2)
    • Watch
  • Toiletries
    •   Toiletry bag
    •   9 sticks of deodorant
    • Sleeping pills
    •   5 tubes of toothpaste
    •   6 things of floss
    •   Electric Razor
    •   Quick drying towels (2)
    •   Electric Toothbrush
    • Electric toothbrush heads
    •   Glasses (2)
    •   Cases for both pairs of glasses
    •   Glasses cleaner + towel
    •   Contacts for travel
    •   Contact solution
    •   Contact cases
    •   Nail clippers
    •   Tweezers
    •   Pencil eyeliner
    •   Eyeliner sharpener
    •   Perfume
    •   Coconut oil lotion
    •   Face-wash
    •   Aloe Vera
    •   LOTS of lotion
    •   Mouthwash
    • Loofah
    • Hairbrush
    • Biotin pills
    • Calcium pills
    • Multivitamins
    • Anti-diarrhea medication
  • Toiletries (for carry-on)
    •  Travel sized shampoo
    •  Travel sized body wash
    •  Travel sized toothpaste
    •  Small bottle of Advil
    •  Disposable Razor
    •  Diva Cup (love this, bought it a few months ago, you also get a free one from PC, but I wanted to test it out before hand)
    • Reusable pads (I bought Lunapads)
  • Electronics
    •  Laptop
    •  Laptop charger (2)
    • Laptop case
    •  Kindle
    •   Phone
    •   Phone case
    •  Phone charger (2)
    •   Kindle charger
    • External hard drive
    •   Headphones (4)
    •  Voltage converter
    • Power adapter cube
    •   Airtight container (for phone/kindle, anything else)
    • Extra Android cords
  • ·         Miscellaneous
    •   Swiss army knife
    •   Playing cards
    •   Rain Cover for backpack
    •   Sewing kit
    •   Index/Note cards
    • Ziploc Bags
    •   Duct/Scotch Tape
    •  Silica gel packets (LOTS)
    •   Earplugs
    •   Sleep mask
    •   Eyeglass repair kit
    •   Headlamp
    •  Hydro flask water bottles (2)
    • Makeup bag
    •  Indonesian dictionary
    • UNO card game
    • Other board/card games
    • Cocoon Travel sheet
    • Markers
    • Pens
    • Notebook for training classes
    • World Map and US Map

Now, when it comes to luggage, I’m allowed 2 checked bags, a carry-on, and a personal item. I am probably the worlds worst over packer in history, but I am trying to limit myself. I plan on only bringing one checked bag, a carry-on, and a backpack. For my checked bag, I bought an Eagle Creek Rolling Duffel – Large. For my carry-on, I’m just bringing an over the shoulder Adidas gym bag, and my backpack is a PacSafe travel backpack that I bought for my study abroad trip to Spain 2 years ago.

I’m pretty sure I should be able to fit all of that into those bags, with some extra space (we’ll see). Although we’re allowed all those bags, we also have to carry everything that we bring ourselves, and I’m not looking to tire myself out by lugging huge bags around. Even though I have contemplated bringing the extra checked bag just so I can bring excessive amounts of peanut butter, Twizzlers, and grated Parmesan cheese packets (LOL).

On a more serious note, I really should get my priorities straight considering how much time I spent writing this blog post instead of actually packing this stuff. So I’m going to end this here. Because I honestly haven’t even started packing yet.

But you can follow all my adventures for the next 2+ years right here (…or on Instagram, or Facebook, or really anywhere you can find me). I can’t promise how frequently I’ll post, but I promise I will.

So here’s to the next 2+ years of me trying to be punny and probably making some awful jokes (hey, I think I’m funny, and that’s all that matters). But mostly of not really knowing what’s about to happen or even going on.

(What am I getting myself into?)

Haha, just kidding. I’m super pumped.

One thought on “It’s Time for a New Adventure.

Leave a Reply

